VIB boasts a large bioinformatics population, consisting of approximately 150 scientists in more than 10 research groups, spread across all of the VIB Research Centers and VIB Core Facilities.


Inspired by the sold-out editions in 2016 and 2018, VIB is organizing this third edition to highlight recent developments in bioinformatics research, and to showcase its impact in medical, agricultural, and biotechnological research.

Nationally and internationally renowned speakers will present recent scientific findings in applied bioinformatics. They will shed light on the future perspectives of their research in the following plenary sessions:

- Microbial & plant genomics: from simple to complex
- Structural bioinformatics and proteomics
- Data integration, machine learning and networks
- Single cell bioinformatics

Besides an inspiring scientific program, conference participants will have ample networking opportunities during poster sessions and the conference dinner. More information, agenda and registration is available on the VIB Conferences website.


VIB Bioinformatics Core
Alexander Botzki
Lennart Martens
Yvan Saeys
VIB Nucleomics Core
Stefaan Dervaux
Peter Tompa Lab
Peter Tompa
CMN BioIT Unit
Peter De Rijk
Shoshana Wodak Lab
Shoshana Wodak and Wim Vranken
Switch Lab
Frederic Rousseau and Joost Schymkowitz

On 27 February 2017 Lennart Martens (VIB-UGent Center for Medical Biotechnology) and Alexander Botzki (VIB Bioinformatics Core) organized the first VIB Community Meeting on Bioinformatics and Computational Biology in Brussels. This initiative aims at fostering the VIB collaboration and knowledge exchange among bioinformaticians through discussion sessions on innovative topics in the field.

During the last plenary session there was an opportunity to give feedback about this meeting, and some very interesting remarks and suggestions came up. A post-meeting survey revealed a great need for community building at VIB. The results of that survey can be found on this link.

Future meetings will be set up to support a Computational Biology Platform within VIB, through intensified interaction and collaboration across the VIB research centers and core facilities. Stay tuned!


On 12 December 2017 there was the second edition of the VIB Community Meeting on Bioinformatics and Computational Biology in Brussels. With this meeting we aim to connect bioinformaticians from all research centers with each other by means of flash presentations by all PhDs and postdocs. With the parallel sessions in the afternoon we hope to learn more about the software developers at VIB, integrative bioinformatics, NGS/single-cell and proteomics work by our bioinformaticians.

The participants evaluated this edition of the community meeting by means of a survey. The results can be found here!

During this meeting Christof De Bo presented another version of community building dedicated for software developers/programmers. A team will be assembled to organise such interactive meetings, stay tuned!

12122017 bio-it meeting

We would like to organise a community meeting for bioinformaticians who are interested in using container and workflow technology within their bioinformatics research. Based on several use cases from within VIB, we hope to create a forum for best practises and knowledge exchange and possibly stimulate collaboration within VIB. This meeting took place in Ghent on 25/01/2019.

We aim to show that containerisation is a method of bundling an application or pipeline with all its dependencies, from language runtimes like Python and R to the operating system itself. Furthermore, we would like to discuss what type of pipelining tools are used within VIB Bioinformatics labs as well as core facilities and also show some examples from other Core Facilities beyond VIB (e.g. NGI in Stockholm). And last but not least, we would like to introduce the Bioconda initiative which aims at a sustainable and comprehensive software distribution system for life sciences.